My Happy Blog

Also at http://reviewmehappy.blogspot.sg

The (Sort-of) Crafty Weekend

The anniversary is quickly approaching. “Anniversary”. I never really fancied the term.

I’m going to call ours the First Year.

I’ve always admired those who have the gift of art. Artists who can turn ordinary things into beautiful objects, all through their craft.

I am so not an artist. I’ll try with every inch of my being to be, and fail terribly. But I wanted to at least make something for the boy for our first significant year.

So hey, at least I tried.

 ☁  ☁  ☁  ☁  ☁

2013-11-29 18.47Vouchers/Coupons for the boy to redeem.

twineManly-looking twine to bind the vouchers with.

2013-11-29 19.37A watch in a jar to go along with the wad of vouchers.

I know, I cheated. The watch is not handmade. But I filled the jar with stuffing. By hand!

The boy was greatly pleased. I couldn’t wait for the date to arrive and just gave it to him a week early 😀

And being the guy that he is, the boy didn’t have much of a clue about what to get me. Not that giving gifts are significant at all in a relationship.

But it never hurts to have more pretty things.

♥ ♥ ♥

Untitled-1So he got me the plain canvas tote bag (which I vandalized right after) I’ve been looking all over for, a pretty journal I’ve been eyeing, and a gorgeous pen to go along with it.

To be honest, he cheated too. I found the plain canvas tote bag I’ve been looking all over for (from a friend who had an extra), I ordered the pretty journal I’ve been eyeing,

1Decand we went pen-searching together.

2013-12-01 12.02Just looking at the pretty pen (which I’ve been lusting after ever since I saw this) makes me smile.

2013-12-02 20.12Maybe it’s just me, but the pen goes so devastatingly well with the gorgeous journal.

2013-12-02 20.25Here’s another picture, just to prove my point.

So all the boy had to do was prepare his wallet. Story of most women’s lives.

2013-12-01 22.14So I set about vandalizing the plain canvas tote bag I’ve been looking all over for.totefacesWith plans to sew on a face.

The totebagBut then I started hesitating, and eventually procrastinated.

2013-12-02 19.44Now the bag only has ears and a nose. I’m still deciding if a full face is better.

2013-12-03 16.11Meanwhile, I enjoy the gifts that the boy has paid for.

Happy First Year (soon)!

Happy Source: Handicraft (sort of).

One comment on “The (Sort-of) Crafty Weekend

  1. wadventurer
    December 3, 2013

    Reblogged this on wadventurer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2013 by in Happyshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
